Recipes: High Fiber Banana Bread, Tofu Chocolate Mousse, World’s Best Lasagna

Things are a little boom or bust, free-time-wise, so I figure I’ll start sharing recipes when I don’t have time for researched rants. Because almost everyone eats food and most people like it too, right? In spite of my discussions of health and wellness elsewhere on this blog, I definitely don’t want to leave anyone with the impression that the recipes are strictly healthy. They’re mostly just tasty. I am lucky in that I can focus on maintaining a healthy diet on average, but I don’t worry about occasional “splurging,” though I hate that term because of the implied guilt. So yeah, not nutritional advice.

Please do not use without permission.

Easy, High-Fiber Banana Bread

I hate eating bananas on their own once they’ve got even a hint of brown on the peel. Because shipping companies sometimes refrigerate them weirdly in transit, I’ve experienced the dreaded overnight transition from very green straight to light green with brown spots. In an effort to waste fewer bananas, I started making banana bread. I adapted this recipe.

  • 3-4 very ripe bananas, peeled (I use 3 large, or sometimes even 4 smaller, bananas.)
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 1/2 cup of sugar (With the extra bananas, I only use a rounded half cup of sugar and it definitely doesn’t need to be white sugar. 3/4 of a cup works nicely if you want a more dessert-y bread.)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 cup of all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup of flaxseed meal (or switch your favorite high-fiber flour alternative in here)
  • a pinch of nutmeg or cinnamon

Smoosh it all together and bake for an hour in a greased bread pan, like the original recipe says. Depending on the number of bananas you use, the bottom of your bread may consistently fail the toothpick test because it’s where a lot of the banana fiber settles. It won’t kill you, promise.

Tofu Chocolate Mousse

Boyfriend’s eyebrows conveyed his skepticism the first time I made this, but we both love it! And the protein means it makes a great snack, not just a dessert.

In a sauce pan, melt together:

12 oz chocolate chips (I usually do 8 oz. dark chocolate and 4 oz. semi-sweet)

1 tsp vanilla (at least if you’re into measuring things; I usually eyeball it)

As much whole milk as it takes to emulsify your chocolate so it’s stirrable/blendable. (Your mix may look runny in the blender, but it will stiffen quite a bit when chilled, so don’t be afraid of thinning it out a little.)

While the chips are melting, blend 12 oz silken tofu and leave in the blender.

Pour the chocolate in and blend well. Then pour your mix into the container(s) you want to eat your mousse out of, chill, and enjoy!

The Best Lasagna. Ever.

This recipe by Pioneer Woman (Ree Drummond) needs no alterations. And it can feed an army. It would probably even be good with faux-rizo (or whatever it’s called).


Happy ingestion of chemicals, Jumpers! (Unless, perhaps, you intend to take Food Babe at her word and outdo even the Breatharians. It’s almost like when people like her rant about “chemicals,” they must mean “chemicals whose ingestion should be limited or avoided for the protection of human health.” But I’m no nutrition scientist. I sure wish there was some kind of policy agency to worry about all this for us…)

One thought on “Recipes: High Fiber Banana Bread, Tofu Chocolate Mousse, World’s Best Lasagna

Leave a Reply

