RECIPE: Turkey burgers that don’t suck!

Greetings, Jumpers!

It’s been too long, I know. I was kind of in a funk for awhile there, with the anniversaries of a friend’s death and my mom’s diagnosis, and Mother’s Day. I cried and stress-cleaned plenty, but I just couldn’t bring myself to write another sad post.

Anyway, I finally feel like I might have my groove back this week. Here’s a spicy, savory turkey burger recipe, in case you’re feeling sassy too! If you view turkey burgers as an adulteration of the classic American summer staple, let me assure you that this is not a recipe for a dry, chewy discus that you should play yard games with rather than eat. This turkey burger is, first and foremost, a BURGER, and damned proud of it. As for why, Boyfriend and I are trying to mostly avoid beef because it’s not great for the planet, unless you can afford to buy it from a local, sustainable farm. (Which we definitely cannot.)

I started with this recipe for inspiration. My take was approximately as follows:

  • 1.5ish lbs of Costco ground turkey
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup(ish) of Italian breadcrumbs
  • 1 vidalia onion, Ninja-ed
  • 2 cubes of frozen garlic
  • 1.5 tbsp(ish) of Trader Joe’s salsa verde
  • 2 tbsp of Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 tsp(ish) Better Than Boullion chicken base (in place of salt)
  • A decent bit of ground black pepper
  • Chipotle olive oil

I combined all the ingredients except the olive oil, which I let warm up in a sauté pan. All told, I ended up with 7 patties because the pan I chose wasn’t very wide and I wasn’t patient enough to cook them one at a time. (We don’t have an outdoor grill or that’s where they would have landed.)

Since they were turkey burgers, I wanted them cooked all the way through. I covered the pan, turned the heat up until the oil was popping enthusiastically, let the first side get a little char on it, turned the heat down so I wouldn’t burn myself or goo up the kitchen, flipped the burgers, and repeated the process. When they were done, we stuck slices of sharp cheddar on top to melt, slapped the burgers on pretzel buns, and added our respective toppings. They were sooo good. Neither of us was even a little bit sad that these weren’t beef burgers!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

